Olivia Dish

The Devil’s Pancakes

In Bacon Grease, Homemade on June 10, 2012 at 11:03 am
pancake

Cornmeal and whey pancake in my trusty cast iron skillet.

Coming up with a recipe for the best pancakes of your life isn’t necessarily a good thing.

Unfortunately, I realized this a little too late.

To resist the mighty temptation of pancakes every day, I’ve had to institute limits for myself.

You might want to think how you’ll  control yourself, if you’re going to read on and give these a try.

My favorite pancake recipe of all time is a fairly recent invention, inspired by a few of my other food-related passions–finding a use for leftovers, making my own cheese, and seeking out something more interesting than white flour for making bread stuff.

This latest concoction uses cornmeal and whole wheat flour, bacon drippings, and whey left from making goat cheese.

The result is a pancake so flavorful, so tender, you could skip the butter and maple syrup.

I don’t.  But you could.

malt

Rumored to be the “secret ingredient” though I’m thinking it might be the goat’s milk whey.

Here’s what I use:

1/2 cup of cornmeal
1/4 cup of whole wheat flour
1/4 cup of white flour
2 tablespoons of malted milk powder
2 teaspoons of baking powder

1 egg
3/4 cup of goat’s milk whey
2 tablespoons of bacon grease

Blend the dry ingredients with a whisk.  Beat the egg into the whey. Pour the whey, egg and bacon grease into the dry stuff, mix a little, then make pancakes.

I’ve always heard that malt is the secret ingredient in restaurant/hotel pancakes.  It definitely adds something.

eggs and whey

After making chevre, I save the whey in the original goat’s milk container. Be forewarned– It’s great in pancakes and biscuits and will make you want to cook them!

But then, so do the cornmeal, bacon grease, fresh local eggs and whey.

Of course, I’m sure you could substitute buttermilk and cooking oil if you like, but then, that’s practically a regular old pancake.

So save the bacon grease.  Make some goat cheese, and save the whey.

Just be warned:  you’ll crave pancakes.  That’s where the institution of limits had to come in. I have a Sundays-only policy at my house.

These pancakes are so good, it makes it hard to want to tweak the recipe–though I’d like to try a no-white-flour version soon.  Maybe I could justify a stack of weekday pancakes in the name of research.

Leave a Reply

