Olivia Dish

Salad ReMix

In Homemade, Local Flavor on July 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm
salad wrap

Lettuce now wrap leftover salad…

Making a large salad for a crowd has its drawbacks–chiefly, for me, what to do with the soggy leftovers the next day.

I’ve written food TV segments that recommended you turn that mess into a stir fry, but the truth is, I never thought the results were very good.

Somehow, in a moment of bumbling inspiration, I have hit upon a perfect use for leftover salad–a use I like so much that I am now making up fresh leftover salad just so I can have this dish: leftover salad lettuce wraps.

If you have leftover salad, you can mince it up and stuff it into fresh lettuce leaves.

Or you can make it even tastier, by starting fresh like this:

An array of sprouts from City Roots farm

Put some greens in a bowl.  I like a mix of lettuce and micro greens such as sunflower sprouts and broccoli sprouts.  Shredded carrots are nice too.

Still-warm toasted sunflower seeds make it even tastier

Add some toasted sunflower seeds.

Use your kitchen scissors to cut the bowl of greens into small pieces.

In the same bowl–no need to mix separately–give two splashes of olive oil, two splashes of vinegar, a single splash of soy sauce and a small squirt of honey.  Blend these, taste, and adjust to suit yourself.

Peel off a few fresh lettuce leaves and stuff them with your chopped salad mixture. Eat, repeat, enjoy.

Lettuce sandwich…perfect for breakfast

The deliciousness of this concoction confounds me.  For some reason I think of Churchill’s “riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma.”   But explanation or no, I find myself craving this nearly every day.  It is my new favorite breakfast, my go-to snack, my lunch eaten over the sink.  It is quite good with leftover salad and simply amazing with a fresh-made filling of sprouts and still-warm-and-crunchy sunflower seeds.  Try it and let me know what you think.

Olive oil from Georgia

A quick word about the olive oil I’ve been using–I purchased it at the All-Local Farmers’ Market in Columbia, SC, and it’s from Georgia, not as in Russian Georgia, but as in the state next door. It’s really wonderful stuff for salads, because the flavor is so bright and fruity.

(Thanks to Niece Dish for taking these photos. Now, if I could only get her to try the lettuce lettuce wraps.)

Leave a Reply

